Thinking Scientifically in a Changing World

Learning
Moderator Endorsed: Data Literacy
Moderator Endorsed: Data Literacy

Hours for Learning Activity:

1 learning hour

Date and Time:

Thursday, March 14, 2019, 4:00pm

The NGSS-ESS Working Group is pleased to announce a free webinar, Thinking Scientifically in a Changing World on Thursday, March 14 at 4 p.m. ET, 3 p.m. CT, 2 p.m. MT, 1 p.m. PT. The webinar will be presented by Doug Lombardi, Temple University.

The webinar is free, but registration is required. Please visit https://nagt.org/nagt/profdev/workshops/ngss_summit/March2019/index.html

TO REGISTER:

You will receive webinar access information a day or two before the webinar. We will also post a recording of the webinar on the NGSS-ESS webinar page: http://bit.ly/webinarngss where we invite you to view archived videos of all of the previous webinars. 

Description:

NGSS identifies critiquing, arguing, & analyzing as evaluative processes that are foundational to science & science learning. However, they can be challenging for students. With NSF support, the MEL Project team has developed and will present in this webinar instructional scaffolds that help students to purposefully evaluate connections between lines of evidence and alternative explanations of phenomena -- to construct deep understanding of socio-scientific topics like climate change. 

Presenter:

Doug Lombardi, Temple University