Organization

Center for Wildlife Studies

Photo of a drone flying above a forest
Learning

This course is designed to teach students drone flight operations for the collection, mapping, and analysis of drone imagery taught by Jon Caris and Dr. Kathleen Dunckel on Hurricane Island, ME.

Date and Time:

Monday, August 1, 2022, 9:00am to Friday, August 5, 2022, 6:00pm

Registration Deadline:

Sunday, July 17, 2022, 11:59pm

Organization: 
A person measuring a sea turtle on a sandy beach
Learning

This is a 4-day field trip where students will practice nesting protocols and techniques at a key nesting beach in the Yucatán Peninsula taught by Dr. Melania C. López-Castro, Coordinator of the Sea Turtle Conservation Program at Pronatura Península de Yucatán.

Date and Time:

Sunday, July 10, 2022, 9:00am to Friday, July 15, 2022, 6:00pm

Registration Deadline:

Sunday, June 19, 2022, 11:59pm

Organization: 
Learning

An introductory course for students interested in applying GIS as a tool to help answer important questions in the natural sciences, or for those with ArcGIS experience looking to transition to an Open-Source platform.

Date and Time:

Monday, May 2, 2022, 9:00am to Sunday, May 29, 2022, 11:59pm

Registration Deadline:

Sunday, May 1, 2022, 11:59pm

Organization: 
Learning

During this course, students will learn methods for accounting for imperfect detection with species detection/non-detection data and also discuss important study design considerations by instructor, Dr. Darryl MacKenzie.

Date and Time:

Monday, May 2, 2022, 9:00am to Sunday, May 29, 2022, 11:59pm

Registration Deadline:

Sunday, May 1, 2022, 11:59pm

Organization: 
Close-up photo of purple, yellow, blue, and red flowers
Learning

Gain foundation in the practical skills needed to identify and classify plants in your location of interest and meet the minimum educational requirements for federal and state wildlife biology jobs that require formal education in botany and the related plant sciences by taking this four-week, online, learn at your own pace with instructor, Dr. Katherine Crowley, Center for Wildlife Studies.

Date and Time:

Tuesday, May 31, 2022, 9:00am to Sunday, June 26, 2022, 11:59pm

Registration Deadline:

Monday, May 30, 2022, 11:59pm

Organization: 
A sea turtle swims above some light green coral
Learning

Learn life histories, physiological adaptations to marine life, homing and navigation of sea turtles and so much more from instructor, Dr. Melania C. López-Castro during this 3 week online, learn at your own pace, course with Center for Wildlife Studies.

Date and Time:

Monday, June 6, 2022, 9:00am to Friday, July 1, 2022, 11:59pm

Registration Deadline:

Sunday, June 5, 2022, 11:59pm

Organization: 
Photo of a desk with a keyboard, mouse, phone, notebook, headphones, computer screen, plant, and book on top
Learning

James Verdier, Senior Editor of BioScience, teaches early-career researchers skills for high-impact, immediate engagement with readers, including decision-makers, colleagues, and members of the lay public.

Date and Time:

Monday, March 14, 2022, 9:00am to Friday, April 22, 2022, 11:59pm

Registration Deadline:

Sunday, March 13, 2022, 11:59pm

Organization: 
Learning

In this course, we will process raw point location data, estimate home ranges, and conduct habitat assessments using raster land cover data and the open-source software applications QGIS and R.

Date and Time:

Monday, January 3, 2022, 9:00am to Sunday, January 30, 2022, 12:00am

Registration Deadline:

Sunday, January 2, 2022, 12:00am

Organization: 
Learning

An introductory course for students interested in applying GIS as a tool to help answer important questions in the natural sciences, or for those with ArcGIS experience looking to transition to an Open-Source platform.

Date and Time:

Monday, December 20, 2021, 9:00am to Sunday, January 16, 2022, 12:00am

Registration Deadline:

Sunday, December 19, 2021, 12:00am

Organization: 
Learning

Learn the basic concepts of statistical programming in R. Examples used in learning are tailored to the needs of students, researchers, and professionals in wildlife- and ecology-related disciplines.

Date and Time:

Monday, December 27, 2021, 9:00am to Sunday, January 23, 2022, 12:00am

Registration Deadline:

Sunday, December 26, 2021, 12:00am

Organization: