K–12 Educator of the Year

young students working with teacher in classroom

The K–12 Educator of the Year Award is presented to an individual who is recognized for their exemplary efforts in promoting environmental education in K–12 classroom settings, as well as engaging community organizations to create a more sustainable future.

This person must live in one of the U.S. 50 states, Mexico, or the Canadian provinces or territories and have made a significant contribution to EE in one or more of the following ways:

  • Received clear recognition of her/his overall contributions among EE colleagues, and within their state or provincial EE association
  • Made visible contributions to the field of EE (e.g. research, legislation, publications, etc.)
  • Provided more than 10 years of dedicated service in the field of EE
  • Demonstrated innovation in incorporating EE into lesson plans
  • Demonstrated the ability to link formal and nonformal education, to advance environmental education
  • Demonstrated leadership in mentoring colleagues to use the environment as a context for learning
Past Recipients

2019 Winner
Dave Murduck, Teacher at Champion Middle School in Bristolville, Ohio
Press Release

2017 Winner
John Jung, Environmental Science Teacher 
Press Release

2016 Winner
Jim Reding, AP Environmental Science and Ecology Teacher
Press Release

2015 Winner
Nancy Gillis, Eco-Lead Teacher at Cresthaven Public School, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Press Release

2012 Winner
Jim DeCecco, California
Press Release

2011 Winner
Sheila Jones, North Carolina Sheila Jones

2010 Winner
Mike Sustin, Ohio
Press Release

2009 Winner
Mike Town, Redmond High School, Washington

2008 Winner
Linda Phipps, Galena, Kansas

2007 Winner
John Sammons, Greenbrier Intermediate School, Chesapeake, Virginia
Press Release

2006 Winner
Myles Evon Radchenko, St. Pat's High School, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Press Release

2005 Winner
Molly Madden, Belen, New Mexico
Press Release